Science or Art?

Lately I’ve been thinking about what I will be pursuing in university/for the rest of my life. I don’t want to regret what I choose and I don’t want to choose something just because it sounds “impressive”.

The only thing I see myself doing for the rest of my life is in fact, art. I wouldn’t want to study fine art though. I would probably study architecture or design. The thought of doing that in university as well as in the real world seems really exciting. It would be cool to see my designs in a large scale. The downside is that it’s hard to become well known in industries such as architecture. I would most likely end up working for a large company in a measly little office; completely insignificant. I do not want to be insignificant. I want to make a difference in whatever I do and it’ll be incredibly difficult to really make that difference in such a competitive field. Who knows if I would even truly  make it.

I can almost convince myself to jump into architecture/design but aspects of science really interest me. If I were to pursue a career in the scientific field, I would choose to get a BSc in psychology and go on to get a PhD (hopefully) in something like behavioural neuroscience. It’s quite an aspiring goal I would be setting for myself if I do choose this path. Why a PhD? I want to conduct research in the field of neuroscience. Behavioural neuroscience, specifically. In this field I know making a difference is more inevitable. I would be able to help the scientific community understand more and more of the human mind. To me, the human mind is one of the most interesting things (aside from art) in the world. I’m worried however, that by me choosing science, I will regret not choosing architecture.

How does someone choose between two strong interests?

What were your reasons to study what you did? Or what where your reasons to pursue your career?

Maybe I need to learn to take a chance.

Why am I even thinking about this ):

Society6

Tumblr

3 thoughts on “Science or Art?

  1. Hey! I hope my comment can help you.

    Nowadays, I’m a teacher at one of the most important universities of my country. Nevertheless, when I was 16 I had the same problem you’ve got now. I wasn’t sure if I was going to be a translator or a teacher. The reason I doubted so much was the fact I loved languages, but I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to cope with the teaching. Mostly, because I fucked it up, I would also fuck up someone else’s knowledge. The thing is that I ended up talking to a friend about it. He wisely told me that if I wasn’t going to study Pedagogy because of fear, I would not even be able to have a relationship. It might be such a simple advise, but it really made have enough courage to do what I’m doing now. I love teaching and I love the fact I can teach others to speak a new language.
    What I’m trying to say is that you must do what your heart tells you to do. If –after doing the first thing– you feel like trying something else, then go ahead and do so. You’ve just said that you don’t picture yourself doing anything else, but art. So, I think that’s what your heart truly wants to do.

    • You’re right (: I can not hold myself back from doing what I love merely from the thought that I won’t make it. I’m still young so I don’t have to be absolutely sure about what I want in life but you’ve really helped with your advice! I will definitely keep it in mind. Thank you!

What's on your mind?

